RAPPAHANNOCK REGIONAL JAIL AUTHORITY MEETING MINUTES January 25, 2024

PRESENT

ABSENT

OTHERS

Mr. Terrence Collins King George County Col. Kevin Hudson, Superintendent Mr. Eric Gregory, Hefty & Wiley, P.C Lt. Col. J.V. Tully, Deputy Superintendent Ms. Santina Thelen Ms. Lisa Walker Ms. Stacy Gemmell

Sheriff Chris Giles King George County

Chief Brian Layton City of Fredericksburg

Sheriff Scott Foster City of Fredericksburg

Sheriff David Decatur Stafford County

Sheriff Roger Harris Spotsylvania County

Mr. Randal Vosburg Stafford County

Mr. Ryan Mehaffey Spotsylvania County

Mr. Ed Petrovitch Spotsylvania County

Mr. Tim Baroody City of Fredericksburg

Ms. Crystal Vanuch Stafford County

Ms. Donna Hahn King George County Sheriff Giles, Chairman, called the Jail Authority Board Meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. on Thursday, January 25, 2024, in the Rappahannock Regional Jail Roll Call Room.

Sheriff Giles requested Roll Call:

Sheriff Giles	Present
Sheriff Foster	Present
Sheriff Decatur	Present
Sheriff Harris	Absent
Chief Layton	Present
Mr. Mehaffey	Present
Mr. Petrovich	Present
Mr. Vosburg	Present
Mr. Collins	Absent
Ms. Vanuch	Present
Ms. Hahn	Present
Mr. Baroody	Present

Sheriff Giles stated that the Jail Authority had a quorum. Sheriff Harris arrived at 1:27 pm.

Sheriff Decatur led the Invocation and Sheriff Giles led the Pledge of Allegiance.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Mr. Vosburg made a motion to approve the Agenda as presented. Chief Layton seconded the motion. The motion to approve the Agenda passed unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Public comment was given by one resident of the community.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Petrovitch made a motion to approve the meeting minutes of the October 26, 2023, Jail Authority Board meeting. Sheriff Decatur seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

AWARDS

Superintendent Hudson presented Correctional Case Manager Jonque Candelaria with his 5 Years of Service pin. Correctional Case Manager Kimberly Rohme and Master Jail Officer Raquawn Jean were presented with their 10 Years of Service pins. Superintendent thanked them for their service and dedication to the facility. Bobo Corbin was presented the Civilian of the 4th Quarter Award, and Officer Timothy Garnett was presented the Officer of the 4th Quarter Award.

OLD BUSINESS

No old business was presented.

NEW BUSINESS

2024 ACFR

Mr. Andrew Grossnickle of Robinson, Farmer & Cox Associates presented the Financial Statements for the year ending June 30, 2023. He stated that the Independent Auditors' Report states that the financial statements are materially correct; the audit was performed in accordance with all auditing standards, and is unqualified and clean opinion. He stated that the Annual Comprehensive Financial Report (ACFR) had been prepared for the Jail and would be submitted to the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) for consideration for the Certificate of Achievement and Excellence in Financial Reporting. The Jail has received this award every year since 2010. No questions were presented by the Board.

ACTION ITEMS FOR APPROVAL

FY 2025 Budget Submission

Mr. Petrovitch, Chairman of the Finance Committee, presented the requested FY 2025 Jail Budget to the full Authority Board. The board members discussed needing more time to bring to their own Board of Supervisors. Mr. Gregory stated that the Jail Budget must be approved by the Authority Board by March 1st. Ms. Vanuch made a motion to table the discussion and bring forward at a Special Jail Authority Board Meeting on Thursday, February 22, 2024, at 1:00 pm. Mr. Mehaffey seconded the motion. A Roll Call Vote was held:

Sheriff Giles	No
Sheriff Foster	Yes
Sheriff Decatur	Yes
Sheriff Harris	Yes
Chief Layton	No
Mr. Mehaffey	Yes
Mr. Petrovich	Yes
Mr. Vosburg	Yes
Ms. Vanuch	Yes
Ms. Hahn	No
Mr. Baroody	Yes

The motion passed.

SUPERINTENDENTS REPORTS

The Board had no questions for Superintendent Hudson.

ADJOURN

Mr. Mehaffey made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Vosburg seconded the motion. The January 25, 2024, Jail Authority Board Meeting adjourned at 1:58 pm.

Respectfully submitted: Approved:

Santina Thelen, Recording Secretary

Sheriff Giles, Chairman