# RAPPAHANNOCK REGIONAL JAIL AUTHORITY SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES June 13, 2024 Meeting #2

ARSENT

IRESENI	ADSENI
Sheriff Chris Giles King George County	Mr. Matthew Smolnik King George County
Chief Brian Layton City of Fredericksburg	Mr. Ryan Mehaffey Spotsylvania County
Sheriff Scott Foster City of Fredericksburg	
Sheriff David Decatur Stafford County	
Sheriff Roger Harris Spotsylvania County	
Mr. Tim Baroody City of Fredericksburg	
Mr. Ed Petrovitch Spotsylvania County	

PRESENT

Ms. Crystal Vanuch Stafford County

Mr. Craig Meadows Stafford County

King George County

Mr. Collins

# **OTHERS**

Col. Kevin Hudson, Superintendent Mr. Eric Gregory, Hefty & Wiley, P.C Lt. Col. J.V. Tully, Deputy Superintendent Ms. Santina Thelen Ms. Lisa Walker Ms. Beth Healy, CFO Sheriff Giles, Chairman, called the Special Jail Authority Board Meeting to order at 1:14 p.m. on Thursday, June 13, 2024, in the Rappahannock Regional Jail Roll Call Room. Mr. Jeff Adams was present for Mr. Mehaffey.

Sheriff Giles requested Roll Call:

Sheriff Giles	Present
Sheriff Foster	Present
Sheriff Decatur	Present
Sheriff Harris	Present
Chief Layton	Present
Mr. Mehaffey	Present
Mr. Petrovich	Present
Mr. Meadows	Present
Mr. Smolnik	Absent
Ms. Vanuch	Present
Mr. Collins	Present
Mr. Baroody	Present

Sheriff Giles stated that the Jail Authority had a quorum.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Ms. Vanuch made a motion to approve the Agenda as presented. Mr. Meadows seconded the motion. The motion to approve the Agenda passed unanimously.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

## **RACSB MOU FY25 Changes**

Superintendent Hudson stated that he had spoken with Executive Director Mr. Wickens of the RACSB, and he agreed not to change the financial portions of the MOU. The Board directed Superintendent Hudson to approach the RACSB MOU earlier next year so that any changes can be built into the budget cycle.

## **ADJOURN**

Ms. Vanuch made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Petrovitch seconded the motion. The June 13, 2024, Special Jail Authority Board Meeting adjourned at 1:17 pm.

Respectfully submitted: Approved:

Santina Thelen, Recording Secretary Sheriff Giles, Chairman